How I learned about accessibility through open source contribution

How I learned about accessibility through open source contribution

Introduction

Hola, welcome to this blog post. Through my contribution to the open source project, I learned about accessibility. Let's talk about it in this post.

My experience with Accessibility

Accessibility is how any person can use or enjoy a website, system, or app. Improving accessibility helps everyone, not only people with disabilities. It makes things easier to use, improves performance, and reaches more people.

I found out about accessibility from Open Sauced, This platform helps contributors track and display their contributions to open source projects. Open Sauced offers a course called Intro to Open Source. In this course, you will learn about open source and how to contribute to open source projects. The course was available in English. It's well-designed and well-structured for everyone. Even for beginners and experienced contributors.

I wondered about my French fellows. Are they able to access the same things? I checked the issue's tab. Christine Belzie and Antonio Pedro were translating the course into Portuguese (Brazil). Afterward, I said I wanted to translate it into French to make it easier for people to understand. It was so nice how the contributors received me, working alongside Christine.

This course is for everyone. It explains Harlimat's type of contribution to open source in a clear way. The website is available in English, French, and Portuguese-Brazil. We will add more languages later.

I found the website very accessible. I could navigate through different sections and menus using the sidebar. I could also see and hear the information using the text-to-speech. I enjoyed contributing and using it, a handy course I recommend.

Conclusion

This experience taught me a lot about accessibility and how to apply it in practice. I learned how to use various tools and techniques to make products more accessible to people. I learned to work with other developers and contribute to open source projects. Shout out to the maintainers of open sauced. If you want to contribute to open source, start by taking the open sauced intro course. Visit the Insights website. Make an account. Show off your contributions and resume.


In future blog posts, we'll explore all about accessibility. Thank you for reading, do not forget to leave a comment, like, and share.